The Tennessee General Assembly passed the Virtual Public Schools Act, in 2011. The act defines virtual schools as public schools that use technology to give students a part of their education using the internet in an online or remote setting. Under this law, virtual schools must adhere to the same laws as traditional public schools on curriculum standards, class size, length of school year, regular student assessments, and teacher qualifications. Tennessee school districts can start and manage their own virtual schools or can contract with a nonprofit or for-profit entity for curriculum services. Tennessee’s virtual schools are funded through the same channels as traditional public schools. School districts can use Basic Education Program funds from both local and state sources to operate their virtual programs. Tennessee school districts are also encouraged to apply for grants and accept donations to help fund their virtual school programs. Since the Virtual Public Schools Act in 2011, nine districts have established virtual schools: Bradley County, Bristol County, Hamilton County, Metro Nashville, Robertson County, Shelby County, Union County, Washington County and Wilson County. Just like traditional schools, virtual schools are included on the annual State Report Card published by the Tennessee Department of Education.